ICCF Congress, Bloemendaal, Netherlands

5 - 13  September 1987





The Congress took place in the Hotel Iepenhove, Bloemendaal, from 5th to 13th September 1987, together with meetings of the committees.


The Meeting was excellently arranged by the NBC 

On behalf of the Nederlandse Bond van Correspondentieschakers (NBC), the participants were heartily welcomed by its President Leo Diepstraten

The President Hans-Werner von Massow (BRD) took the chair

The ICCF President referred to the work and friendship of World Chess Champion Dr. M.Euwe and Ms. Inneke Bakker as FIDE official or many years.  There had been disappointment that FIDE had not initially supported ICCF's request for membership of UNESCO, but that the FIDE President had subsequently supported ICCF's initiative.

Congress remembered five important CC friends who had died during the preceding year: J.L. Ormond (SWZ), Dr. Armando Silli (ITA), J.B. Estrin (ERSS), H.-J. Heitmann (GER), K-H. Boese (GER).


 The Report of the General Secretary

A proposal from the General Secretary to accept Federacio d'Escacs de las Valls d'Andorra as the 63rd member nation was also unanimously adopted


The Award of Bertl von Massow Medals

The proposal from General Secretary to award medal in Gold, for more than 15 years meritorious work in ICCF, to P.E. Ekblom (SF), S. Kania (PL), E. Nuutilainen (SF), R. Wikman (SF), E. Winkler (DDR) was unanimously accepted.  

Medal in Silver, for more than 10 years of meritorious work in ICCF, to R. Berthelsen (N), H. Brusila (SF), J. Bodis (F), T. Bullockus (US), P.E. Ekblom (SF), R. Feytens (NL), N. Jungreis (IL), T. Peretjatkowicz (PL), G.C. van Perlo (NL), A.A. van 't Riet (NL)